Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mayor & Council

2018-2022 Mayor and Council Group

2018-2022 City of Kenora Mayor and Council

Standing left to right: Councillor Sharon Smith, Councillor Andrew Poirier, Councillor Chris Van Walleghem, Councillor Mort Goss, Councillor Rory McMillan, Councillor Kirsi Ralko

Sitting centre: Mayor Daniel Reynard

A mayor and six councillors govern the City of Kenora. They are elected under the terms and provisions of The Municipal Elections Act for a four-year term. The current Council’s term expires November 2022.

City Council is the custodian of the powers of the Municipality and with the exception of certain statutory officers and certain statutory boards, is the sole agency whereby such powers may be exercised. In essence the Council is the general agent of the Corporation for all purposes and is the means whereby the City may bind itself to a course of action.

Municipal Councils combine both legislative and administrative functions. As the law-making body of the City, the Council develops policies and enacts By-laws and resolutions in accordance with its statutory powers.

Section 130 of The Municipal Act, 2001, provides that every Council may pass such by-laws and make regulations for the health, safety, and welfare of the inhabitants.

Acting Mayor Appointments

Councillor Mort Goss  December 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019
Councillor Rory McMillan  August 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020
Councillor Andrew Poirier  April 1, 2020 to November 31, 2020
Councillor Kirsi Ralko  December 1, 2020 to July 31, 2021
Councillor Sharon Smith  August 1, 2021 to March 31, 2022
Councillor Chris Van Walleghem  April 1, 2022 to November 30, 2022